Discrete Mathematics, Spring 2018


Week 1

1 Mon, 22 Jan Download the Course Syllabus.

Homework: Section 0.2, #1, 2, 5.
2 Wed, 24 Jan Homework: Section 0.2, #7, 8, 10.
3 Fri, 26 Jan Homework: Section 0.3, #1, 5, 7, 9.

Week 2

4 Mon, 29 Jan Nick's office hours are from 5:00—7:00 tonight in Room 315 in the library.

Homework from Section 0.4: #1, 5, 7, 10, 13.
5 Wed, 31 Jan Homework from Section 1.1: #1, 2, 3, 5.
6 Fri, 2 Feb Homework from Section 1.1: #6, 7, 11; Section 1.2: #1, 6, 10.

Week 3

7 Mon, 5 Feb Download solutions to the first Homework Quiz.

Nick will be in Room 315 in the library from 5:00—7:00 tonight.

Prof. Tom Banchoff will be speaking at 3:30 in Cowell 107 (and there is food in the Getty Lounge (where the fireplace is in Lo Schiavo) starting at 3:00).

Homework: Section 1.3, #1, 2, 8, 10, 11, 12. Note: For large answers, leave in unevaluated form, such as ${200\choose93}{367\choose58},$ rather than multiplying out.

Don't forget the Homework Quiz on Wednesday!
8 Wed, 7 Feb Here is a link to counting poker hands. You will be given one of these (except "high card only") to reproduce on your midterm!
9 Fri, 9 Feb Homework from Section 1.4: First, read the solutions to #3 and #5. Bring questions! Then do problems #1, 4, 7.

Week 4

10 Mon, 12 Feb Nick will be in Room 314 tonight in the library from 5:00—7:00.

Download solutions to Homework Quiz 2.

Homework from Section 1.5: #2, 3, 4.
11 Wed, 14 Feb Homework from Section 1.6: #1, 3. Bring your books on Friday!
12 Fri, 16 Feb In-class review (Section 1.7): #1(a)-(c), 2(a)-(f), 5(a)(b), 7, 10, 12, 13, 16(a)(b), 17(a)(b).

Additional practice problems from the book (all but a few have answers in the back):
  1. Section 0.3: #14, 15.
  2. Section 0.4: # 2, 6, 8.
  3. Section 1.2: #2, 5.
  4. Section 1.3: #3.
  5. Section 1.5: #5, 11.
  6. Section 1.6: #4, 8.
Remember that you should bring a calculator to the exam! You may NOT use your phone. I will NOT have any extra calculators. If you forget one, you will have to use the Pascal's Triangle projected on the screen.